+1 Adventures

A Dinner at Wild Cat with Seattle's Best Chefs

You can expect a sponsor of each newsletter to be here.
Click the image if you want šŸ˜‰Ā 

006: Today is a first for the newsletter. Iā€™m not ready to publish. Iā€™m sitting in a coffee shop in Sandpoint, Idaho. I am here for the weekend visiting my dad. I have 2 interviews and drafts completed for future Seattleites You Should Know. But, they arenā€™t ready. I rather spend a little extra time on those and make sure I do right by those individuals, than rush something out that is half-assed. With that being said, I have another story to tell about a dinner this week.

Wild Cat, Beacon Hill, Seattle, Washington

+1 Adventures

My wife coined the term ā€œ+1 Adventures.ā€ This is when Iā€™m invited to a restaurant, event or activity and she gets to come along as a +1. She has no obligations to take photos, post, or ever talk about the event ever again. Itā€™s the best invitation in my world of food and content. She gets to eat all the free food, with zero obligations. Iā€™m usually on the other side, embarrassing both of us with my selfie light over a plate of salad. But sometimes, I get lucky, the tables turn, and I am the +1.Ā 

I was invited to this dinner event on Tuesday by my friend Justin (thank you). We walked up to Wild Cat in Beacon Hill. Iā€™d never been here. Itā€™s a sibling restaurant to Seattleā€™s very popular Musang. They are Musangā€™s temporary location while their restaurant gets renovated. Itā€™s a small event space with a kitchen, bar, bathroom and two areas for seating. I would guess there were 40 guests here.Ā 

The event was sponsored by two Japanese companies that are focused on getting more sustainably raised fish products from Japan into North America. The Japanese External Trade Organization (JETRO) is a Japanese government-related organization that helps businesses from around the world connect with exporters from Japan. SakanaBlue sells sustainably raised and harvested fish. The goal was to bring in their fish, partner with local chefs, and show off their product in person.Ā 

The chefs are the stars of the show tonight. Since we are inside Wild Cat, it made sense that Melissa Miranda, of Musang, was the headliner. She was collaborating with another young star in Seattleā€™s food scene, Chef Sean Arakaki from Itsumono. They were both short on words, wanting their food to do the talking. I have posted some images below of a few plates, and the menu. Even though I make a living talking about restaurants, I never really know how to talk about food. And I would guess youā€™re not here for me to describe the bites either.Ā 

These events are always a little awkward. If you arenā€™t familiar with the faces around you, it takes some courage to introduce yourself, get the small talk out of the way, and decide if youā€™re going to dive deeper, or find a way to politely move to the next person. When we arrived, Justin and I dropped our jackets at two chairs at the edge of a table for six, knowing we were playing roulette with our tablemates. And we got really lucky.Ā 

Two more women sat down at the opposite end of our table. One was Rachel Bell and her +1 (Jes). Rachel is an award winning reporter, and James Beard nominated podcaster. Her show is called ā€œYour Last Meal with Rachel Bell.ā€ She interviews celebrities about what they would eat if they got to choose their last meal on Earth. *adds idea to my long list of video and newsletter topics*

The dinner is starting and the two remaining seats (in the middle) are the last ones left in the room. The seat next to me is filled by a gentleman by himself. His name is Nemo Glassman and heā€™s the CEO of Sea Tech Trading. They produce technology that is integrated into these sustainable seafood producers farms to help improve the quality of the products. The last seat is filled by someone that I consider Seattle food royalty, Yenvy Pham. She is co-owner of a chain of Vietnamese restaurants in Seattle, including Pho Bac.Ā 

Iā€™ve said this many times before, and this wonā€™t be the last. But dinners to me are rarely about the food. With food quality this high, prepared by chefs this good, I know I wonā€™t be disappointed. What sticks out to me is service, and company. Our table was a riot.Ā 

We were all so curious about Nemo and his story of moving from California to Oregon to Japan. Heā€™s lived there now for almost twenty years and started a few companies. Rachel is naturally good in these environments. Yenvy might be the life of the party. She knows everyone here, especially the staff. I always rely heavily on Justin when Iā€™m at dinner with him. Not only is his palette incredible, but he is so good at analyzing technique and ingredients. Once again, thank you Justin. Each food item is paired with a drink.Ā 

Oh yeah, before I forgot. They displayed all of the dishes at the bar BEFORE we sat down to eat. When we arrived, you could check out each dish, and of course, get your pictures. This was expert level event planning. By having all of the food out beforehand, I was able to capture that content and actually enjoy the dinner.Ā 

The meal was so fun. The banter was electric at our table. What started as a mystery event, turned out to be so much fun. Iā€™ve barely mentioned the food and chefs, but I need to end with them. They deserve so much credit for the unique experience. When we eat at these popular restaurants, that often take months to get a table at, whoā€™s food are we actually eating? Yes, the food was designed and crafted originally by the chef. That night however, a team of people prepared that plate for you. One-off dinners like this feel like youā€™re eating at the chefā€™s home. Itā€™s a one time thing that wonā€™t be done again. It was really special to sit at a dinner like this and eat food cooked by special people. Iā€™m incredibly grateful for this wonderful evening.

+1 Adventures ARE THE BEST.

The best way to help FMiS is to share the newsletter with your friends, family and coworkers. It would mean a great deal to me if you did šŸ™‚Ā